Home » Bloggers » The Politics of Persona

The Politics of Persona

I know this isn’t my own writing, but I couldn’t have put it better myself. And it’s an easy way to get a blog post up. And I can always tell people I taught Raymond everything he knows about writing.

Seriously, who we are, deep down, shows in our online persona. I am drawn to people or I’m repulsed by them, based on the way they treat others in the virtual world where, it seems, there are sometimes no filters. Read on…

Writing in a Dead World

female-sociopath-mask-2I spent the last few weeks finishing my latest novel. While I was typing away in my semi-isolated little world, I missed some really great drama over on Good Reads. Now I’m no gossip or drama lover…wait…yes I am, but regardless I still have a decent point to make. The “debate” which had nothing to do with the thread topic, developed over some potential bullying. There was aggravation, accusations, anger, and hurt feelings. The merits of the arguments against or in support of the accused blogger is immaterial to the real issue at hand—Author Persona.

We all have personas. Billy Joel called them the Stranger. It’s really a matter of adaptation. Across the various levels of social intimacy we portray different aspects of our personality spectrum. It’s not a question of being “fake” nor an indication of your sociopathic tendencies, but rather an unwritten cognitive and social agreement We play…

View original post 820 more words

Leave a Reply

