Mother’s Day reflections

Once again, Mother’s Day has rolled around as it has every year, and once again I find myself mentally reviewing parenthood in general.

Anyone who is a parent knows there are times—sometimes more often than not—when parenting seems like a losing battle. Nobody really prepares you for what parenting does to you, whether mentally, physically, or even spiritually.

The thrill of having a baby is often overshadowed by the sheer exhaustion of all that a baby requires. Babies, by their nature of being . . . well, babies . . . are takers. Any giving they do is completely involuntary. They can’t help it; they are completely helpless, dependent on their parents to keep them alive and content. The involuntary giving is cuteness, snugglability, and the awesome realization of parents that we were given the privilege of taking care of this tiny little person who is somehow so amazing that all tiredness and self-sacrifice is worth it.

Mind you, we don’t always feel that way in the midst of yet another toddler tantrum or sleepless night, but when saner heads prevail, we get it. It’s worth it.

My kids are no longer what I can classify as “kids” in the strictest sense. Our oldest is 23, next in line is 21, and the “baby” is very close to turning 17. They’ve turned into people in their own right, with their own friends (some of whom—gasp!—I don’t know personally), jobs, and interests that may or may not reflect mine. Even so, I still worry about them and still want to take care of them as best I can, even though they really don’t need it in the same way.

The babies who used to wake us up multiple times a night were replaced by toddlers who would wander into our room in the middle of the night, unaware that they were more often than not interrupting the first intimate moment we’d found the time and energy to enjoy in days. The toddlers were replaced by teens who would stay up later than we could manage to hold out, and then young adults who would change plans and suddenly arrive home on a day we’d planned to have the house to ourselves. And still . . . worth it. Worth every instance of interrupted intimacy, every middle-of-the-night phone call that starts with, “I’m okay, so let’s just get that out of the way first,” every “I need you to come and get me because . . .”

Even as the mama of young adults, my time is still not my own, because if they have a need, I still want to be there. If there’s time to just hang out and talk or grab a meal together, I want to be available and it can’t happen as easily as it used to. It makes my heart happy when they actually seek out time with me. But being a mama at this stage has also given me a heart for younger moms and their struggles.

Secondary to raising our own children, one of the best things we can do as mamas is to be there for other moms. I am blessed to be friends with some of the adult children of my own friends, and I think it helps to have a listening ear and an encouraging word or two when they’re feeling overwhelmed. My mother was not someone I could confide in, and was not what anyone would call a listener. Uh . . . and not sympathetic or understanding, either, for that matter. So I completely understand that there are times when it’s easier to talk to a mom other than your own. They can listen and not judge, and it’s not up to them to solve your problem or to take responsibility for it.

My daughter (our youngest) has a couple “extra” moms she trusts when times are rough. We’re extremely fortunate that she is open with us (even when we don’t want to hear what she needs to tell us), but even so, I think it helps her to know there are other adults she can run things by if she’s trying to figure out how to tell us what she needs to talk about, or if I’m not immediately available, or even just to get a differing viewpoint on a problem she’s trying to work out. Far from being jealous, I’m thankful. God has been gracious to put wise people in her path, and I’m not foolish enough to turn down the help.

In the same vein, I have extra “kids” who call me mom, ranging from teens to young adults, and I’m happy to give them solid hugs and a bit of my scant wisdom when it presents itself. In the way that others are there for my children, I want to offer the same. Yesterday, in fact, I had a thoroughly enjoyable morning filled with delicious coffee, laughter, and deep conversation with a beautiful gal who calls me her “work momma.” She wanted to take me out for Mother’s Day at our local chocolatier (mmm, truffles), and it provided a three-hour block of time for us each to be “filled” during an otherwise-draining season of life. She’s a young adult who sees me as my own person, which allows me to be open and vulnerable, yet who also trusts me to treat her with the love of a friend and “extra” mom. She has a terrific mom of her own, and yet there is still a need for that extra set of ears during tough times. I’m privileged to be part of her life.

My mom was sort of a tough taskmaster when it came to Mother’s Day. She had to have the gift, the card, and the phone call—any one of those three missing, and the day was a bust. Over the years, I came to realize that I just needed to do my best and live with it, even though I knew she told her friends and neighbors how neglectful I was. My worst Mother’s Day was the first one after our son had died, and I didn’t want to really interact with the outside world. I was content to spend the day with my husband and children, and yet I knew my mother would be upset if I didn’t call. When I finally did call, I was scolded for not calling early enough in the day. She’d been stewing all day long, not even considering the grief I was dealing with after losing a child only four months before.

I vowed then and there that I would never be like that with my own children. Yes, we all make promises to ourselves to not be like our parents, and I’m sure there are inevitabilities of a familiar mannerism or two, but of this one I’m certain. My children will never be made to feel that a gift will make or break my love for them. Thankfully, in that way, my kids are sort of like me: we love to give or receive thoughtful gifts and appreciate them, but we don’t always feel comfortable having to come up with something simply because the calendar says we should. I think that helps, that we think alike on that point. No pressure, kids. No pressure.

I’m proud of the adults they’re growing into, and yet there’s a whole host of new things to pray about as I trust God to guide them through life. Children are a huge tax on a person’s spiritual walk! They give us so much to pray about, and so much to be accountable for. I love my children with such a fierce, possessive love that I can’t imagine how God can love them more, even though I know He does.

And that kind of love for my kids helps me to understand how God can love us no matter what. The love is unending, even while wanting to punch them in the nose for a callous observation that cuts deeply, or for an offhand remark that makes me cry silently in another room so they don’t see how hurtful they can be. I will wager that there is no child on earth who knows how often his or her parents are brought to tears . . . either for them, or because of them. I would imagine God has wanted to punch me in the nose once or twice. I’m extra thankful he’s more patient than I could ever be, even on my best day.

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” —Romans 8:38-39

Happy Mother’s Day, mamas out there. You’re doing better than you think you are.

 

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day reflections

Add yours

  1. How did I not know about this blog? This was a fantastic post. I’m sorry to hear about the difficulties you had with your own mother, but it looks like you’ve turned out to be a great mother yourself, with all of your kids slowly becoming successful adults.

    And that really does mean something! I’m still not sure if I’m a successful adult. I’ll let you know once I figure out how to tie a tie.

    1. You’ve found me! I’m not going through the witness protection program a third time; I’ll just have to deal with it. This is the non-editing me . . . the place where I don’t feel nearly as competent, but where my thoughts flow more simply and without a lick of research.

      I’m glad you enjoyed my ramblings! I, of course, think I’m a stellar mother. My kids don’t always think so—who raised them, anyway? I blame my husband—but of course they’re wrong. Thankfully, I think they’re pretty cool individuals, so I’ll still let them hang out with me. I’m not sure if the world would consider them successful or not, but they know who they are and they don’t constantly change themselves to fit in. Ahh, musicians. We’re all like that, I think.

      Adulting is not for the faint of heart. Sometimes I do find myself looking for an “adultier adult,” as the phrase goes. In your case, it can be me. Here are some extremely practical necktie knots for you to work on. New Ways to Tie a Tie

      1. I like the non-editing you. I appreciate your unfiltered thoughts. Your spiritual side. Even though we act like idiot heathens, you might be surprised to find out that we are C-words (not the word that rhymes with runt, though that may apply, too). We just usually don’t talk about faith since it’s such a touchy subject nowadays, and being an atheist seems to be the ‘hip, cool’ thing to do while being a Christian somehow makes you a backwards science-denier who spends his weekends throwing rocks at “the gays”.

        I don’t want to do that at all. No, I just want to tie 8 ties together, turn myself into Tie-thulu, and stomp around the office cursing middle management. What’s so wrong with that?

  2. There’s nothing wrong with the Tie-thulu plan. Don’t you let anyone convince you otherwise.

    As for the rest, it’s funny how people will form (usually inaccurate) opinions about a person after finding out the Christianity aspect. I’ve been on the receiving end of that and it’s infuriating. I’ve also had people tell me I’m “remarkably normal” for being a Christian. Now THAT made me laugh, mostly because nobody who knows me well would ever classify me as normal. Ever. And that’s also a post for another day . . .

    As for your blog and books, well . . . that’s not what ABftS is all about, so it would seem pushy and odd if you were to talk about it there. I actually think it’s pretty cool that you’re simply yourselves. And doggone refreshing. Besides, you can’t waste your arm strength throwing rocks on weekends when you’ll need everything in you to tie all those ties.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

