Millenials ruin everything. Everything.

MILLENIALS WRECK ENTIRE WORLD: NEWS AT 11

You know, that’s something I’m growing tired of reading and hearing. All my children qualify as millenials, according to the “official” dating system for these types of things. And correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure none of them (or their friends) have ruined life as we know it for all future generations.

As is the case for almost anything these days, if there is blame to be placed, it will be pointed in a direction other than ourselves. Millenials have become a convenient scapegoat for anything that is wrong or heading toward going wrong, and they’re getting tired of it . . . much like our former president probably was weary of hearing, “Thanks, Obama,” every time something went amiss in the world . . . and much like “It’s Trump’s fault!” has gotten old, fast.

Every so often I have eye-opening conversations with my kids. We don’t agree on much when it comes to social issues, politics, and a multitude of other topics, but then again . . . sometimes we do. And the funny thing about that is that many times we appear to disagree on things we actually agree on, because our reasons why and our approach are polar opposite.

One of the things we do agree on is the millenial-bashing and how we’re sick of it. A recent article I read with yet another *yawn* list of things millenials are killing actually had me laughing to myself. Here’s a portion of the list—basically, the ones that made me laugh hardest:

  • casual-dining restaurants (like Buffalo Wild Wings or Applebee’s)
  • big-name beer
  • paper napkins
  • light yogurt
  • cereal
  • liquid fabric softener

You know why I laughed at these? Because . . . wait for it . . . they’re STUPID. This is the dumbest portion of one of the dumbest lists so far. Casual dining restaurants have come to be known as reheated “plastic food” (my husband’s term for it) that isn’t fresh or good for you in any way. Craft beers with full flavors and seemingly infinite varieties are replacing the “big beer” industries that have, for years, put out a yellow-colored, carbonated blecch. Paper napkins? Don’t even get me started on what a waste of money those are. The article mentions (with a tone of astonishment) that millenials buy paper towels instead because they’re more versatile. Light yogurt is full of chemicals to replace natural sweetener, and people who are health-conscious have moved toward the protein-rich, natural Greek yogurt instead. In the same vein, traditional breakfast cereal is one of the most un-filling, empty meals you can start your day with. And consumable, chemical-filled fabric softener is easily replaced with (cheaper, simple) white vinegar or wool balls (no replacements needed).

I’m not known as a tree-hugger, but I don’t like to waste money, resources, or anything else, for that matter. Guess what? Millenials (and the younger generation overall) don’t have money to waste, and are often watching the older generation as they struggle through lack of retirement money, high-interest mortgages, failing health due to poor eating habits, overwhelming debt, and more. Why wouldn’t they want to change things for themselves? If we learn from experiences, hoping to base our decisions on what we see around us, and they don’t like what they see (my oldest often refers to “crippling debt” as a huge nope for him), they have the right to not follow that path.

The Business Insider (online) post from August 20 that I read mentions that millenials will often spend their money on experiences like traveling, rather than designer-label clothing. And this is somehow a bad thing? I think our priorities are screwed up . . . which is why the millenials see no reason to continue down the road of their parents or grandparents in so many of these areas. Maybe the anger toward them is based not on the things they’re supposedly wrecking, but the fact that they’re shining a floodlight on our own poor choices and we don’t like admitting that we’ve made so many.

Thanks, Obama Trump millenials.

8 thoughts on “Millenials ruin everything. Everything.

Add yours

  1. This is freaking beautiful and I agree with every single word of it! Everyone blaming millennials for ‘ruining the world’ is afraid to look in the mirror. Honestly I wonder if I was born too early because their mentality makes a lot of sense. Thanks for articulating this. Great post!

    1. Thanks so much! I’m technically a Gen X-er, but—like you—I think maybe I was born at the wrong time. I look at how my younger friends are living and raising their children, and I wish I’d been that wise with my time and efforts. We do what we can with what we know, and I do think I didn’t do too badly, but I find a lot of things to admire with my kids’ generation. Yes, there are those who want everything for nothing, but I firmly believe there are people in every generation who will always be like that. For the most part, what I see is people who care about the world around them and those living in it. “Afraid to look in the mirror” is a good word picture for what the critics and finger-pointers are acting like.

    1. I feel that way every time I read another millenial-bashing article. If we (as a collective generation) are so perfect, why aren’t they following what we’ve done, to the letter?

  2. Wow, as a millenial it was interesting to see the perspective of someone who is not one on the matter. Thank you for this! It was well written and mostly definitely got everything across. I’d love for you to check out my blog posts… I’m just starting out and am trying to reach out to the “millenial” but trying to have a outspoken view point! 🙂 thanks!

    1. It’s kind of funny . . . I never set out to reach a certain demographic, but my kids are right in the middle of it, and I hear their frustrations about being stereotyped. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’ll definitely hop over to your blog.

  3. “Craft beers with full flavors and seemingly infinite varieties are replacing the “big beer” industries that have, for years, put out a yellow-colored, carbonated blecch.”

    I knew we liked you for a reason. Spot on. And here’s the thing – if people like swilling down a $6 Bud Light while they eat their $20 plate of plastic Applebee’s, good for them. You won’t hear me talking smack about them. But I’d just rather put that $26 toward a craft beer and an artisan meal at a local hole-in-the-wall restaurant, and I’d like to do it without being called some kind of pretentious hipster. I didn’t realize eating and drinking something that’s more flavorful to me was hipsterdom.

    We’re the oldest variety, but apparently we fall under the category of millennial, too. And no, we didn’t ruin anything. You know who DID ruin things? Those damn baby boomers! They made life impossible for us kids by screwing up the economy! Things were so much better back in (insert random year before I was born that I know nothing about, outside of what I’ve been told).

    In case you didn’t notice… we’re not big fans of the generational blaming, either.

    1. I completely agree about where to spend that money! I love finding places where the food is made fresh, small staff, maybe even semi-undiscovered by the masses. Why wouldn’t we want to put better foods into our bodies? I have a hard time understanding why someone would put another person down for making healthier choices. Jealousy, maybe, that they didn’t think of it first.

      I may blame the baby boomers with you . . . just for being. I’m the oldest of the Gen X-ers, which kind of cracks me up because I really don’t have anything in common with most of them. And—*stomps*—you’re right! Things WERE so much better back in that inserted random year. The random years were the best. Sigh . . . the best.

      If we can’t blame anyone, though, certainly that doesn’t mean we have to take re . . . resp . . . resppppp . . . responsibility for ourselves, does it? Say it ain’t so.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

